To Be One With Nature

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم 

 

I have a thing for nature, it gives me this spiritual high to think I am a part of this breathtaking glory. Its like a battleground out there and everyday is a war, just to see another day.In a recent camping trip I found out how vulnerable as humans we really are. How in the world, did we fragile and physically disadvantaged beings come to be so much more while others are busy surviving. I keep wondering and wondering over this but in the end all I have left to say is alhamdulilah! Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) has really favored us.

And We have certainly honored the children of Adam and carried them on the land and sea and provided for them of the good things and preferred them over much of what We have created, with [definite] preference.[17:70]

The competition is cut throat out there. No muslim can go without saying subhanAllah or Allahu Akbar after watching any of the wild life shows on tv or any mind blowing discovery that science makes. I can’t get enough watching nature at its best and the humility that comes with it. In this war of the most skilled and perfectly designed,  how is it possible for humans to have even survived without Divine help, leave alone ruling the planet. Its hard to get your head around this concept and yet there are some people who go on without giving this a thought or even dismiss any help.


This made me think, think, think and feel so much awe for our Creator.

Its crazy. One question always staggers me. Why do plants and animals take so much pains to survive and even know how to do it? Okay this may sound like a stupid question. But I am sure the frog does not know how important it is for the ecosystem (or does it?). Yet most animals  go to such extremes as if its all they got, they use their acquired skills to their best capacity, as if by living they are doing something so noble that they would rather fight with their lives than just give it up. Only one goal – More life. What is life giving them that simply not existing isn’t? ? Why is living and survival so important? In the quest for which they surpass beauty, acquire unimaginable skills and even defy science. Animals that are designed perfectly to do nothing but survive. Its hard to imagine that life has no purpose and it just goes on. They seem like on a mission to me

The seven heavens and the earth and whatever is in them exalt Him. And there is not a thing except that it exalts [Allah] by His praise, but you do not understand their [way of] exalting. Indeed, He is ever Forbearing and Forgiving.[17:44]

We humans have so much to live for. In fact our whole life revolves around making life more “livable”. Discoveries and inventions, amusements and distractions, purpose and passions, families and possessions and the list goes on yet I see very few people being happy in what they have. One look at our history and its apparent we are in search of something worthwhile. We are always running, always trying to fill ourselves but for a muslim that’s the relieving part, to know the real purpose of this life and even how to fulfill it.

And I did not create the jinn and mankind except to worship Me. [51:56]

Is this what the non human life forms live for too? Is this why there is so much harmony and peace, because they have submitted to their Creator? It must be. Its got to be. There is so much to learn from nature. They do not go around looking for wealth, luxury, comfort, appreciation or fame. Focused on their goal, the only thing that life really needs i.e to worship the One Who created it.

Its inadvertent really, we are created to worship Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) alone. At first it was hard for me to grasp this in its entirety.

“Created to worship”

humans

Why am I here?

So are we supposed to pray all the time, but its obligatory only 5 times a day.  Are we supposed to fast all year? But fasting is for Ramadan. Are we supposed to make hajj as many times as possible? But hajj is to be done at least once and that too if we have the resources to. Are we supposed to give all of our income in alms? No! its just 2.5%. Are we supposed to be immersed in the Quran without really living it? I don’t think there is any such command. Then how can we worship all the time? That’s why they say Islam is not a religion it is a way of life. Even eating can be a form of worship, even breathing if pleasing and worshipping Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) is our only goal

In my many fears, worries and apprehensions, focus is all it took to put things in perspective.  I traveled miles of regret and coulda woulda shouldas to the understanding what it means to be created for worship. I am still understanding and even then I accept I am weak at putting it in practice. I want to feel what nature feels.

Say, “Indeed, my prayer, my rites of sacrifice, my living and my dying are for Allah , Lord of the worlds.[6:162]

This.  This is enough of a reason to fight tooth and nail for. This is where I belong. This reminds me of our Prophet’s ﷺ dua and I say this dua so much when things seem so bleak.

” I seek refuge in the light of Your Face by which all darkness is dispelled and every affair of this world and the next is set right”

Allah (subhana wa ta’ala)‘s love and light is all we really need. Someone said life has no meaning only purpose. Its true, ask nature

 

Fi amanillah!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “To Be One With Nature

Speak your mind!

