Indeed Allah is With the Patient – Experiencing the Qur’an

O you who have believed, seek help through patience and prayer, indeed Allah is with the patient [2:153]

I am always amazed by how easily the Qur’an nourishes you. And how the same verse could make you feel differently at different points of your life.

Whenever I read the translation of the Qur’an, I bookmark verses that leave a huge impact at the time. And coming back to them feels like when a fragrance allows you to relive a memory and connects you to it in the deepest possible ways. Through feelings and it feels like yesterday because what you feel does not know what time is.

Some verses do that to my imaan. I can feel all the depth of the faith I felt eons ago and it never gets old.

I still remember the nourishment I felt as a new revert to Islam from the imaan that was now flowing alongside the blood in my veins.. Alhamdulillah.

We are always looking for something that resonates, something that helps us figure out ourselves. Or make sense of who, what and where we are. And as always the Qur’an has the answer.

When I read this verse the first time as a new revert in difficulty, it simply meant that if I needed help I should seek it through patience and prayer. Allah’s help was the aim. Getting out the other side was the goal.

But later, in a quiet moment, feeling like I was existing in a vacuum is when I read the last part of this verse with much more care. No not read but savored it, consumed by it, turned it around in my mind as if examining a stunning work of art, how every deliberate crevice and shape felt and how it looked in different lights.

indeed Allah is with the patient

Sometimes it takes a lot of time, pain, work and sweat to be able to grasp life as it is meant to be. It takes hell lot of growing to learn to see God in the details. This part of the verse forced me to see tauheed in a whole new light. That Allah’s company is reason enough to be patient. May be that itself is the goal of patience.

 

Speak your mind!

